The Team

Jonathan Van Horn

Jonathan Van Horn - President

Jon is partner in the law firm of Dorsey & Whitney LLP, where he practices in the area of corporate mergers and acquisitions. Jon’s parents taught him how to cross country ski on the Kettle Moraine trails of southern Wisconsin and the logging roads of northwest Wisconsin. Jon, along with his wife, Gail, and two elementary school-aged sons live in Golden Valley, a short walk from Wirth Beach and the Quaking Bog, and are year-round users of the skiing, hiking and biking trails of Theodore Wirth Park.

Board Committees: Finance and Audit, Governance

Judd Larson

Judd Larson - Treasurer

Judd is the Chief Financial Officer at Environmental Initiative (EI), whose mission is to build partnerships to solve environmental problems. He spent 20 years in the corporate sector before jumping to EI and the non-profit sector in 2000. Judd enjoys helping EI and the Loppet create sustainable and profitable business models. Judd is a year-round bicycle commuter and has spent countless early mornings hiking Wirth park with golf clubs on his back. Judd lives on the east side of Lake Calhoun along with his wife and their high school aged daughter.

Board Committees: Finance and Audit

Steve Kotvis

Steve Kotvis - Secretary

Steve is the longtime photographer extraordinaire for the Loppet Foundation. He plants himself in snowbanks, climbs trees and takes to the lakes all to capture the spirit and energy of participants on the race course. Steve enjoys skiing and road biking and contributes his creative energy to many of the Loppet’s media endeavors.

Board Committees: Program, Fundraising

Mindy Benton

Mindy Benton

Mindy grew up on a small farm in Scandia where she learned to love the outdoors. She works as a Podiatric Surgeon for Allina Health and is the residency Program Director for Foot and Ankle Surgery at HCMC. All members of the Benton family have participated in Loppet Nordic training and events. Mindy is motivated to help children and young adults make a strong connection to health and to the environment with the Loppet Foundation.

Board Committees: Program

Mia Como

Mia Como

Mia has worked in financial analysis, most recently for Minnwest Bank, and with nonprofits both as staff and board member. She grew up enjoying Minneapolis’ parks and has hiked in over 20 national parks. Mia lives with her family in the Bryn Mawr neighborhood of Minneapolis, where they love to hike, bike, and be outdoors.

Board Committees: Finance and Audit, Fundraising/Development

Penelope Greene

Penelope Greene

Penelope and her family embrace life in Minnesota through participation in Loppet Foundation events and programs. She is an avid rower with the Minneapolis Rowing Club. A former business owner and consultant, and an experienced leader in not-for-profit organizations, Penelope looks forward to working with the Loppet Foundation to bring the benefits of excellent recreational programming to the Minneapolis community.

Board Committees: Fundraising

Dr. Julia Joseph-Di Caprio

Dr. Julia Joseph-Di Caprio

“Dr. Julia” is a pediatrician and adolescent medicine specialist. She was HCMC’s Chief of Pediatrics for 12 years until 2015 and now, in addition to caring for patients, serves as HCMC’s Assistant Chief of Provider Services and Senior Medical Director of Primary Care. Julia is also an alumni of the Massachusetts General Disparities Leadership Program and she is working towards health equity for all. Both personally and professionally, Julia believes in the health benefits of living an outdoor-active life.

Beth Lasley

Beth Lasley

Beth has been involved in North Minneapolis Public Schools for 16 years. She was the Minneapolis Public Schools (MPS) Community Education Coordinator at North High School and is now the parent/teacher/community liaison at MPS’ Nellie Stone Johnson Elementary School. Beth is a Charter Member of the Northside Rotary Club. Dedicated to her family, Beth’s son Nathaniel was a camp counselor at Loppet Adventure Camp and her husband Steve, a MPS retired high school English teacher/coach, works part-time at the Theodore Wirth Park Golf Course. Beth enjoys walking, biking, and she looks forward to becoming a more proficient skier and working with the Loppet Foundation to explore even more innovative program ideas to benefit our Minneapolis communities.

Board Committees: Program

Leroy Leftwich

Leroy Leftwich

Leroy is retired after 39 years as a Manufacture and Safety Engineer at 3M. He has participated the last five years in the City of Lakes Loppet races and enjoys other activities such as road biking, running, and Nordic walking. His desire to be on the City of Lakes Loppet Board is the help promote Nordic actives in the elementary schools and other youth programs.

Board Committees: Finance and Audit

Bill McKinney

Bill McKinney

Bill McKinney is Vice-president of Strategy and Long Term Development at Thrivent Financial, the country’s largest fraternal benefit society. Bill grew up in Eastern Kentucky, earned his bachelor’s degree in history from Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota and an MBA from the University of Minnesota. Bill lives in Minneapolis with his wife Amy and their children; Ellie, Finn, and Mette. He is an avid endurance athlete who has completed two Ironman triathlons and several half and full marathons.

Board Committees: Fundraising/Development

Joe Pohlad

Joe Pohlad

Current CEO of Go Media, Joe Pohlad is a longtime Twin Cities resident and sports enthusiast. Having spent most of his career working for the Twins, his recent venture into media is what introduced him to the Loppet Foundation. Joe’s motivation to be a part of the Loppet’s board stems from a belief that an active lifestyle and connection to the outdoors is central to keeping all of us, but especially our kids, well rounded. When he’s not working or volunteering, he enjoys spending his free time running, playing tennis, and teaching his six-year-old how to cross-country ski.

Carl Shaffer

Carl Shaffer

Carl has been involved with Loppet activities for many years, including participating in the Classic Loppet, Tri-Loppet, and Trail Loppet, working a course venue at the Loppet, running paddle clinics for the Tri-Loppet, and doing course marking for the Trail Loppet. Additionally, Carl coaches a high school nordic ski team that has many high school skiers participating in LNR. During the day, Carl runs a company that sells and services overhead bridge cranes that service the manufacturing industry.

Board Committees: Fundraising/Development, Program


Honorary Board Members

R.T. Rybak

R.T. Rybak

Mayor R.T. Rybak has been a longtime supporter and racer in the Loppet community. As Mayor, Rybak was responsible for calling the first public meeting on silent sports which drew together skiers, mountain bikers, paddlers and other outdoor enthusiasts to network and brainstorm ways to celebrate Minneapolis as a silent sports city. Rybak has encouraged and supported the efforts of the Loppet Foundation since its inception. He can often be seen skiing the City of Lakes Loppet and paddling in the Tri-Loppet.

  • Anthony Afful

    Anthony Afful

    Administrative Assistant
    afful@loppet.org
  • Jackie Baker

    Jackie Baker

    Data & Registration Manager
    baker@loppet.org
  • Todd Bauer

    Todd Bauer

    Loppet Sport Manager
    bauer@loppet.org
  • Andrea Bidelman

    Andrea Bidelman

    Merchandise & Partnership Manager
    bidelman@loppet.org
  • John Bussey

    John Bussey

    Chief of Events & Corporate Relations
    bussey@loppet.org
  • Nicole Cueno

    Nicole Cueno

    Chief Operating Officer
    cueno@loppet.org
  • Chris Harvey

    Chris Harvey

    LNR Head Coach
    harvey@loppet.org
  • Bert Jackson

    Bert Jackson

    Trailhead Events Manager
    jackson@loppet.org
  • Paul Johnson

    Paul Johnson

    Events & Operations Coordinator
    johnson@loppet.org
  • Heidi Ledermann

    Heidi Ledermann

    Marketing & Communications Associate, Development Associate
    ledermann@loppet.org
  • John Munger

    John Munger

    Executive Director
    munger@loppet.org
  • Jonah Parady

    Jonah Parady

    Trails & Operations Foreman
    parady@loppet.org
  • Alyssa Prokott

    Alyssa Prokott

    Trails & Grounds Supervisor
    prokott@loppet.org
  • Kim Rudd

    Kim Rudd

    Loppet TRAIL KIDS Program Director
    kim.rudd@loppet.org
  • Pablo Urriche

    Pablo Urriche

    Finance & Administration Manager
    pablo@loppet.org
  • Ray Aponte

    Ray Aponte

    Loppet Adventures Director
    aponte@loppet.org
  • Ben Bauch

    Ben Bauch

    Trailhead Manager & Adventures Coach
    bauch@loppet.org
  • Piotr Bednarski

    Piotr Bednarski

    Loppet Sport Director
    bednarski@loppet.org
  • Abdi Bile

    Abdi Bile

    Loppet Running Director
    bile@loppet.org
  • Marin Byrne

    Marin Byrne

    Chief Development Officer
    byrne@loppet.org
  • Jon Friedell

    Jon Friedell

    Director of Sales and Marketing
    friedell@loppet.org
  • Robert Ibler

    Robert Ibler

    Trails and Operations Manager
    ibler@loppet.org
  • Lindsey Johnson

    Lindsey Johnson

    Events & Event Operations Manager
    lindsey.johnson@loppet.org
  • Isaac Kasper

    Isaac Kasper

    Trails & Recreation Director
    kasper@loppet.org
  • Bruce Martens

    Bruce Martens

    Loppet Cycle Works
    martens@loppet.org
  • Rob Nelson

    Rob Nelson

    Adventures Manager
    nelson@loppet.org
  • Ali Parsons Towle

    Ali Parsons Towle

    Associate Development Director, Chief Program Officer
    parsons@loppet.org
  • Eric Robertson

    Eric Robertson

    Coaches’ Coach
    robertson@loppet.org
  • Le Vang

    Le Vang

    Volunteer Coordinator
    le@loppet.org